Quick Login:

'Daas Dev' release shifted to March 9

Comments  Comments [ 0 ]    By IANS | 02 February 2018 | 11:50am

Mumbai, Feb 2 (IANS) The release date for filmmaker Sudhir Mishras "Daas Dev" has been pushed from February 16 to March 9.

Presented by Storm Pictures and produced by Saptarishi Cinevision Production, the film follows a path contrary to the plot of the classic novel "Devdas". It is a fiercely political film that talks about the protagonist's addiction, read a statement.

The film stars Richa Chadha as Paro, Aditi Rao Hydari as Chandni and Rahul Bhat as Dev. It also features performances from Vineet Singh, Saurabh Shukla and Vipin Sharma. Anurag Kashyap will be seen in a guest appearance in the film.

"I am glad that finally my film has a release date, March 9, and all the hard work that my team has put in will be paid off," Mishra said.

On the journey of the film, he said: "We started with one of my friends telling me why don't you do 'Devdas'? I started working on it with a fellow writer and suddenly things started changing. I started feeling that 'Hamlet' and 'Devdas' were similar stories and then the Indian political situations came up and it became like a reverse journey of 'Devdas'.

"I took the three characters of 'Devdas'; Dev, Paro, and Chandramukhi. As I was working, Shakespeare intruded and I allowed him to. Ultimately, it became a film about power as it gets in the way of love."

Gaurav Sharma of Storm Pictures finds it a "relevant" film as it "makes a resounding statement and entertains in the same breath".

Producer Sanjeev Kumar of Saptarishi Cinevision Production is confident they have a "solid product".



Copyright  IANS

User Rating  Rating(0 Votes)

Views  17

Bookmark and Share

Go to top

User Comments

Join Bollycurry

If You are a member of India-forums, Then You can also log in here.

Quick Login

Gaurav Sharma Gaurav Sharma

Aditi Rao Hydari Aditi Rao Hydari

Sanjeev Kumar Sanjeev Kumar

Anurag Kashyap Anurag Kashyap

Vineet Singh Vineet Singh

Rahul Bhat Rahul Bhat

Sudhir Mishra Sudhir Mishra

Vipin Sharma Vipin Sharma