Quick Login:

Prakash Jha adds item number in 'Satyagraha'

Comments  Comments [ 1 ]    By IANS | 09 July 2013 | 1:44pm


Filmmaker Prakash Jha hasn't missed adding one sizzling item number in his forthcoming drama "Satyagraha". He has roped in model-actor Natasa Stankovic to groove to a thumri-electronic fusion number called "Aiyo ji hamri atariya mein" for the movie.

The filmmaker believes that such songs contribute to certain sensibilities and add to the story.

"Such numbers contribute to certain moments and sensibilities. They (dance numbers) help the story too," Jha said in a statement.

Earlier, Manyata Dutt, wife of actor Sanjay Dutt, did an item song called "Alhad mast jawaani" for Jha's 2003 released film "Gangaajal". Also, television actor Barkha Bisht performed to an item song titled "Ishq barse hai boondan boondan" in 2010 film "Raajneeti".

"Manyata's song helped in establishing the psyche of debased people. In 'Satyagraha', the item song creates the ambience of affluence and the bonhomie of corrupt people," added Jha.

He also admits that peppy songs such as these help to draw attention to a film.

"They do entertain; and entertainment happens to be the most important part of filmmaking. At the same time, when used cleverly, they can also be meaningful," said Jha.

Natasa, who has previously shot for a few ads in India, is also excited about the number.

"In October 2012, I went (came) to Mumbai, where I started to do shows, TV commercials, billboards. My favourite job was my advertisement for Johnson's Baby collection...Now, I hope that the song will be a hit, and my game will come to the fore," she said.

"Satyagraha" features Amitabh Bachchan, Kareena Kapoor, Ajay Devgn and Arjun Rampal. The film hits theatres Aug 23.

Copyright  IANS

User Rating  Rating(0 Votes)

Views  2160

Bookmark and Share

Go to top

User Comments

Join Bollycurry

If You are a member of India-forums, Then You can also log in here.

Quick Login

Kareena Kapoor Kareena Kapoor

Amitabh Bachchan Amitabh Bachchan

Sanjay Dutt Sanjay Dutt

Ajay Devgn Ajay Devgn

Arjun Rampal Arjun Rampal

Prakash Jha Prakash Jha

Manyata Dutt Manyata Dutt

Year : 2003

Year : 2010

Year : 2013